Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

AndyHaliv
New Contributor

Crisis Point

Hi all. 

I've never used a forum before. I'd just love to hear from anyone going through somehing similar to me, I'm realy struggling to cope with recent life changes.

I have just left an emotionally abusive relationship that has left me with depression and somnoe sort of identity crisis. We have a 9 month old baby together and I'm really not coping with being away from my daughter. I left my job when she was born to help my partner with our baby because my partner had an extreme anxiety dissorder. That has left me with no money, no job, no place of my own and no family. 

I feel glad to have separated myself from the abusive relationship but I don't know if leaving was the best thing for my baby. Im struggling with this decision and the depression I have been left with after such emotional trauma is destroying me. I need to build myself from nothing now. I need to somehow still support my baby.

Anyone else had to start from scratch and survived?

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Crisis Point

Hi @AndyHaliv

Welcome to forums!

Allow me to congratulate you on the incredible courage you have demonstrated by leaving that abusive relationship, especially when it has meant effectively starting over from scratch. That was very brave and resourceful of you.

Are you currently receiving any support or assistance for your depression, housing, child care etc? Even without family you don't have to do this all alone, there are resources and services available and I encourage you to make full use of them to get your feet back under you. That is what they are for.