Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

WhatToDo
New Contributor

Husband with Depression - How do I better Support Him?

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting. A few months ago our life was rocked when my husband found himself unable to function, crying, obsessive, controlling and moods all over the place. He had withdrawn from friends long before and seemed to be pushing me away for a while. It took a few weeks of getting worse before we went to the GP and started medications. He realised he's been pushing everyone away but instead turned and worried that I would leave so instead began tracking me and non stop texting or calling until with the help of a mental health worker we set boundaries and confirmed that I wasn't going anywhere. Unfortunately the GP is on holidays so we can't have the followup appt and things are spiralling.

This week I can do no right and I don't know how to be a better support. He's starting to see friends again but that leads to some drinking and that brings out emotions (anger, crying), nasty words, aggression (not physical just tone, body language, kicking things). He then wants to talk but I'm finding it increasingly hard to talk and be supportive when I've just heard how awful I am, unsupportive, don't understand, telling him to be normal (I never do that) etc.

I need him to get back to the GP but she's away for another 3 wks and I need him to speak to someone other than me but he refuses.