Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

slimdebmac
Casual Contributor

Need some assistance/advice.

Im a health professional but finding it difficult to cope with my son's illness. He is a 20yr old male with an 18mth history of bipolar. He has this week discharged himself from his care team. He has to date 2 admissions to a psych unit under an ITO but released both times with no ITO or CTO. He is obviously unwell at present and has been since his last admission months ago and has very little insight. It is distressing to watch this and be unable to do anything. He says he is taking medication but his behaviour would suggest otherwise. We support him away from home as a university student providing him with accommodation and a living allowance as he is either unwilling or unable to get work.....we dont want to see our son on the streets. This is truly a difficult situation to find ourselves in. He is a highly intelligent talented young man but is riddled with anxiety, paranoia and full of conspiracy theories. I feel like we are watching a train wreck in slow motion with no idea how to help.

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Need some assistance/advice.

Do you have regular contact with him ... a weekly or monthly meal date to catch up ...that can be a stable point of contact outside the hospitalisation issues.

Is he managing any of his university work ...

It sounds as if he is genuinely stressed and managing paid work as well would be unlikely.  Perhaps keeping positive contact and adjusting performance expectations for a while might help .. unitl he stabilises.  Often courses give extensions of time to enable people with disability to finish them over a longer period of time.