Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Kelly83a
New Contributor

Anxiety has taken to many years of my life

Hi all,

I'm only new to this. I'm just wondering, for all you anxiety & panic attack sufferers- what do you do to help with your anxiety? I've suffered for many years now, and I'm so mentally & physically drained from fighting this, I'd love to hear how others have delt with living with such a horrible illness 😞 thank you for your time.

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Anxiety has taken to many years of my life

Hi,

Welcome to the forums, its a great place for people who have been through all of this stuff. I have ptsd, anxiety and depression. Its hard and im still in the learning how to cope with it all phase. I guess one thing that i've been learning more recently, some help from a psychologist and gp that fighting the fears/anxieties makes them stronger.. some combination of facing them and reducing the reactions that i have to past events.... and accepting the fear and anxieties seems to be helping. Although in saying that ive been having a bit of a hard time recently and finding it hard to believe that i've changed at all in a good way. However... I keep reminding myself of small things... two years ago it took me a week to buy a set of cutlery that we needed because of fear lol (i know it sounds ridiculous now.) but i'd had no control over anything for a long time and starting to take control over things was so frightening! now I can buy things that we need with relative ease i guess.

There will be other who are more helpful than I, im sure!