Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Boppa
Senior Contributor

My First Post - Living with CPTSD

Hi,

I'm very new to this as it has only been in recent years that I have been able to open up about my story. I am a 55 year old man who grew up in England but "escaped'' to Australia in the late 80's after my 21st birthday.

My mother was a violent narcissist (living with her own trauma of being an adopted child) and my father a white collar criminal, living with Asperger's, obsessed with financial gain and status.

At 10 years old I was sent to boarding school and remained in that system until I was 16.

The life I lived until I was 17 was highly traumatic, social workers first found me alone in my home when I was 2 years old, so neglect was one of my first problems.

Violence was extreme and even more confusing as the perpetrator was my mother. She would regularly physically abuse me.

Verbal abuse was constant with belittling and name calling the norm, this combined with emotional and physical neglect lead to me living "on egg shells" not knowing whether I would get an overly loving and apologising mother or a violent fiend.

I was sent to boarding school at 10 and was groomed from my first term by my English teacher and finally molested at 12 years old, this went on for 6-12 months. My father would not believe what I told him was happening at school. At 13 I went to secondary boarding school and had a violent housemaster who would regularly cane me and then I got bullied from 14-16 years old by other boys at the school.

I went to 7 schools. I was asked to leave 2. I left school with no qualifications.