Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Cherpieus
Senior Contributor

The black dog is back

Hi there,

This is my first time here and I'm not sure where to start.

I've read a number of posts and I am astounded by so many peoples courage in the face of mental illness and distressful life situations.

I'm 41 and have had 4 bouts of depression in my life. I'm currently in my fourth now. The first was when I was 23 and I recovered with counselling and without medication. The second was post natal depression after I had twins when I was 25 and I recovered with medication and counselling. The third was 8 years ago when I went through a divorce. This was the worst. I was suicidal and was in hospital. I recovered with medication and counselling. I stabalised for about 6 years on one medication. I felt reasonable enough to live and I met a wonderful man who I fell in love with and we got married.

Over the last 6 months I've gone down hill. I've been back to see my GP who changed my medication although it hasn't improved things. I'm waiting to get in to see a psychiatrist to see what more can be done with medication. I am now so depressed.

I tried to share my feelings with my husband and he got upset and has withdrawn from me emotionally and physically. I feel terrible that I've upset him and I feel like he has no respect or love for me now.  I have no friends as I lost them all in my divorce.