Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

New Contributor

feeling swamped

Hi everyone,

I have been living with mental illness for the last 25years, and I have finally felt that im on top of it (YAY). But then my brother who is my 91yr old father's carer has had an AVO put on him by the ploice for abuse to my dad, which means that he has to leave the house, which means that as being the only sibling (there are 5 of us) with out full time work that I have to move in for the foreseable future to help assist my father. Now don't get me wrong I love my father and I want to help him, but I have a 12yr old and a house that i also have to maintain, I work as a disability support worker 2 days a week but that is going to change soon due to the NDIS. The family say that they will help with my father but I know in my gut that they will for a while and then it will be all on me.

Im starting to feel overwhelmed due to the pressure that i feel my family is placing on me about having to look after my father, my 12yr old is also struggling with all of this aswell. I want to help my father out but I don't want to go down the rabbit hole of depression again. I just wish that there was a better solution that didn't mean that it was all put on me.

I feel that with looking after my 12yr old, work and caring for my father I will undo all the recovery that I have worked so hard to achieve. 

3 REPLIES 3
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: feeling swamped

Sounds so heavy, and seems as though a lot is kind of out of you hands @230305
As you say- you're feeling pressured. You also have a tween to think of and sounds difficult.